Faculty and Affiliates of the Center

Department of African American Studies

Percy Hintzen
Professor
Political Sociology
Social change
phintzen@berkeley.edu
Professor Hintzen's webpage
2-0393, 2-7084

Michel Laguerre
Professor
Contemporary social theory
Transnational citizenship
Multiculturalism
Globalization
Multinational family organization
Caribbean
mlaguerr@berkeley.edu
Professor Laguerre's webpage
2-3573, 2-7084

Stephen Small
Associate Professor
Slavery
Mixed race people in the U.S. and Caribbean
small@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Small's webpage
3-8211, 2-7084

Department of Agriculture and Resource Economics

Miguel Altieri
Professor
Biological Control
Agro-ecology
agroeco3@nature.berkeley.edu
Professor Altieri's webpage
2-9802, 2-3327

Alain de Janvry
Professor
Economic planning
Poverty
Agricultural and rural development policy
alain@are.berkeley.edu
Professor de Janvry's webpage
2-3348, 2-3345

Elisabeth Sadoulet
Professor
Economic development
Macroeconomic and agricultural policies
Quantitative analysis and economic models
Contract theory
Household and community behavior
sadoulet@are.berkeley.edu

Professor Sadoulet's webpage
2-7225, 2-3345

Department of Anthropology

Stanley Brandes
Professor
Psychological Anthropology
Ritual and Religion
Folklore and the life course
Gender
brandes@sscl.berkeley.edu
Professor Brandes' webpage
2-6945, 2-3391

Charles L. Briggs
Professor
Linguistic and medical anthropology
Social theory
Tension between modernity and traditionality
Citizenship and the state
Race
Violence
clbriggs(at)berkeley.edu
Professor Briggs' webpage
3-2012 or 2-3391

William Hanks
Professor
Maya culture
Language in culture
Discourse, cognition, and communication
Shamanism
Logic in Anthropological inquiry
Anthropology of literature
wfhanks@sscl.berkeley.edu
Professor Hanks' webpage
3-2651

Christine Hastorf
Professor
Food and agriculture
Archeology
Political complexity
Gender
Paleoethnobotany
Andes
hastorf@sscl.berkeley.edu
Professor Hastorf's webpage
2-5457, 3-1112

Cori Hayden
Associate Professor
Anthropology of science, technology and medicine
Post-colonial science studies
Latin America and Mexico

Kinship, gender and queer studies
cphayden@berkeley.edu
Professor Hayden's webpage
3-4168

James Holston
Professor
Insurgent citizenship movements in Brazil
Cities, Democracy, Violence
Urban Ethnography
jholston(at)berkeley.edu
Professor James Holston's webpage

Rosemary Joyce
Professor
Settlement patterns, symbolism, and social organization in complex societies
Analysis of archeological ceramics
rajoyce@berkeley.edu
Professor Joyce's webpage
3-0975

Laura Nader
Professor
Comparative ethnography of law and dispute resolution
Conflict
Controlling processes
Comparative family organizations
Professional mind-sets
2-1218, 2-3391
Professor Nader's webpage

Nancy Scheper-Hughes
Professor
Critical Medical Anthropology
Anthropology of violence
Madness and culture
Inequality and marginality
Childhood and the family
nsh@sscl.berkeley.edu
Professor Sheper-Hughes' webpage
2-8431, 2-3391

Department of Architecture

René Davids
Professor
South American architecture
Quality design
Mutifamily and affordable housing
Urban design
rdavids@berkeley.edu
Professor David's webpage
3-1699

M. Paz Gutierrez
Assistant Professor
Material systems and ecologies
Interdisciplinary data visualization
mpazgut@berkeley.edu
Professor Gutierrez' webpage

Jean-Pierre Protzen
Professor
Inca architecture
Logics of design
Design
Planning
Construction principles of ancient civilizations
protzen@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Protzen's webpage
2-4796, 2-4942

 

Haas School of Business

Ernesto Dal Bo
Associate Professor
Corruption and political influence
Collective decision-making

Economy of Regulation and Antitrust
Regulatory issues in developmen
Social Conflict

dalbo@haas.berkeley.edu
Professor Dal Bo's webpage
3-1606

Pablo Spiller
Professor
Industrial organization
Political economy
Economy of Regulation and Antitrust
Regulatory issues in development countries
spiller@haas.berkeley.edu
Professor Spiller's webpage
2-1502

 

City and Regional Planning

Teresa Caldeira
Professor
Contemporary urban development
Patterns of spatial segregation and social discrimination
Relationship between urban form and political transformation
tcaldeira(at)berkeley.edu
Professor Caldeira's webpage
2-3619

Michael Dear
Professor
Urban Theory
Social Theory
Comparative Urbanism
Disability Studies

mdear@berkeley.edu
Professor Dear's webpage

Graduate School of Education

Patricia Baquedano-López
Associate Professor
Language, learning, and literacy practices
Urban schools, after-school programs, and home and work communities
pbl@berkeley.edu
Professor Baquedano-López's webpage
2-0746

Lisa García-Bedolla
Associate Professor
Educational and gender equity
Immigrant issues
Public engagement
Ethnic issues

lgarciab@berkeley.edu
Professor García-Bedolla's webpage
3-9824

Harley Shaiken
Professor
Skill formation
Training
Work Organization
Global Production
Work technology
Education
hshaiken@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Shaiken's webpage
3-5363, 2-7127, 2-9678, 2-2088
(also affiliated with Department of Geography)

 

Energy and Resources Group

Richard Norgaard
Professor Emeritus
Environment and development
Economics of technological change and petroleum scarcity
Economic and ecological systems in the Brazilian Amazon
norgaard@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Norgaard's webpage
2-3465, 2-1640, 2-3345

 

Department of English

Genaro M. Padilla
Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs; Associate Professor
Minority Literature
Chicano Literature
Ethnic Autobiography

gpadilla@berkeley.edu
Professor Padilla's webpage
2-6727

Department of Environmental Science, Policy, and Management

Miguel Altieri
Professor
Biological Control
Agro-ecology
agroeco3@nature.berkeley.edu
Professor Altieri's webpage
2-9802, 2-3327

Claudia Carr
Associate Professor
International and rural resource development
cjcarr@nature.berkeley.edu
Professor Carr's webpage
3-3964

Ignacio Chapela
Associate Professor
Microbial Ecology
Mycology

ichapela@nature.berkeley.edu
Professor Chapela's webpage
3-2452

Gordon Frankie
Professor
Comparative apiary studies
Urban residential gardens

gwfrankie@nature.berkeley.edu
Professor Frankie's webpage
2-0973, 2-7111

Paul Gersper
Associate Professor
Soil-plant relationships
Land use
Sustainable agriculture
gersper@nature.berkeley.edu
2-3005, 2-7111

Katharine Milton
Professor
Tropical ecology of humans and non-human primates
Diet
Parasite-host interactions
kmilton@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Milton's webpage
2-8607

Department of Ethnic Studies

Ramón Grosfoguel
Associate Professor
Caribbean migration
Latinos in the U.S.
Global cities
Political economy of the Caribbean and Latin America
grosfogu@berkeley.edu
Professor Grosfoguel's webpage
2-3037

Beatriz Manz
Professor and Chair of Ethnic Studies
Latin America
Peasantry
Migrations
Social Movements
Human rights
Political conflict
bmanz@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Manz's webpage
3-5765, 2-3903
(also affiliated with Department of Geography)

David Montejano
Associate Professor
Political Sociology
Development
Race and Ethnic Relations

montejano@berkeley.edu
Professor Montejano's webpage
3-4560

Carlos Muñoz
Professor Emeritus
cmjr@berkeley.edu
2-9134

Laura Pérez
Associate Professor
U.S. Latina and Latin American women's writing
Chicana/o literature and visual arts
Contemporary cultural theory
leperez@berkeley.edu
Professor Pérez's webpage
3-1584, 3-0796

Alex Saragoza
Associate Professor
Concentration of wealth and power in Mexico
Mexican migration
Transnational ideology and representation
alexsara@berkeley.edu
Professor Saragoza's webpage
2-2519, 3-0796

(see also Beatriz Manz, Department of Geography)

Department of Gender and Women's Studies

Leslie Salzinger
Associate Professor
Economic sociology
Globalization
Feminist theory
Cultural constitution of economic processes
lsalzinger(at)berkeley.edu
http://womensstudies.berkeley.edu/about/profile/faculty/25
3-2012 or 2-3391

Department of Geography

Roger Byrne
Associate Professor
Pleistocene/Holocene change in California and Mexico
Historical biogeography
Environmental vegetation change
Prehistoric agriculture
Pollen analysis
arbyrne@berkeley.edu
Professor Byrne's webpage
3-9170, 3-1834, 2-3903

Beatriz Manz
Professor
Latin America
Peasantry
Migrations
Social Movements
Human rights
Political conflict
bmanz@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Manz's webpage
3-5765, 2-3903
(also affiliated with Department of Ethnic Studies)

Nathan Sayre
Associate Professor
Southwestern US
Northwestern Mexico
Semiarid rangelands
Urbanization
Conservation
Education

nsayre@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Sayre's webpage
2-3903

Harley Shaiken
Professor, Chair of the Center for Latin American Studies
Skill formation
Training
Work Organization
Global Production
Work technology
Education
hshaiken@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Shaiken's webpage
3-5363, 2-7127, 2-9678, 2-2088
(also affiliated with Graduate School of Education)

Michael Watts
Professor
Political economy and ecology
Africa and South Asia
Development
Peasant societies
Social and cultural theory
U.S. agriculture
Islam and social movements
mwatts@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Watts' webpage

Department of History

Margaret Chowning
Professor
Member of CLAS Faculty Advisory Committee
Modern Mexico
Socio-economics
chowning@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Chowning's webpage
2-2415

Brian DeLay
Associate Professor
19th Century Americas
US and the world
US-Mexico Borderlands

Native peoples
International arms trade
Transnational history
delay@ berkeley.edu
Professor DeLay's webpage

2-2611

Department of History of Art

Lisa Trever
Assistant Professor
Pre-Columbian and colonial art and visual culture in Latin America
ltrever@berkeley.edu
2-1187

Department of Integrative Biology

Roy Caldwell
Professor
Invertebrate behavioral biology and ecology
Biology and geomorphology of tropical flora
4roy@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Caldwell's webpage
2-1391, 3-5448

Paul Fine
Assistant Professor
Amazonian rain forest tree diversity
Evolutionary biology

paulfine@berkeley.edu
Professor Fine's webpage

2-7690

David Wake
Professor
Herpetology
Evolutionary biology
wakelab@berkeley.edu
Professor Wake's webpage
2-3567, 2-3281

 

International & Area Studies

Alan Karras
Senior Lecturer
Social history of Caribbean islands
Colonial history, economic history, slavery
karras@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Karras' webpage
3-3185

Jerry Sanders
Lecturer
International relations
Security policy
Peace and conflict studies
jsanders@berkeley.edu
Jerry Sanders' webpage
3-8650

 

Graduate School of Journalism

Lydia Chávez
Professor
Member of CLAS Faculty Advisory Committee
Journalism
Cuba, Mexico, and the U.S./Mexico border
lcha@berkeley.edu
Professor Chavez's webpage
2-9235, 2-3383

Cynthia Gorney
Professor
Journalism
South America
Professor Gorney's webpage
2-4579

 

Berkeley Law School

Roxanna Altholz
Clinical Lecturer
International human rights law
Transitional justice
raltholz@law.berkeley.edu
Roxanna Altholz's webpage
3-8781

Maria Echaveste
Lecturer
Immigration and public policy

m.echaveste@aol.com
Maria Echaveste's webpage

Laurel E. Fletcher
Clinical Professor of Law;
Director, International Human Rights Law Clinic

Human rights law
Transitional justice

lfletcher@law.berkeley.edu
Professor Fletcher's webpage
3-4792

Ian Haney Lopez
Professor
Law and race in America
Critical race theory
Legal history of the Los Angeles Chicano Power Movement
ian.haneylopez@law.berkeley.edu
Professor Lopez's webpage
3-2669

Stephen Rosenbaum
Lecturer
Education
Disability
Lay advocacy
Immigration
International human rights

srosenbaum@law.berkeley.edu
Professor Rosenbaum's webpage
387-3956

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Michael A. McNeil
Environmental Energy Technologies Division
Energy
Environment and Climate Change,
Environmental Justice and Sustainable Development

Department of Linguistics

Leanne Hinton
Professor Emeritus
American Indian languages
Sociolinguistics
Language loss
Language revival
hinton@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Hinton's webpage
3-7621

 

Department of Music

Jocelyne Guilbault
Professor
Caribbean music
Popular music
Ethnomusicology
Diaspora studies
jguilbau@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Guilbault's webpage
2-2687, 2-2678

 

Peace and Conflict Studies (International and Area Studies)

Jerry Sanders
Senior Lecturer
Immigration and border issues
Diaspora communities
Mexico
Colombia
jsanders@berkeley.edu
Jerry Sanders' webpage
3-8650

Department of Political Science

Vinod Aggarwal
Professor
Comparative regionalism in Europe, North America, and Asia
International systems
Multinational corporations
vinod@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Aggarwal's webpage
2-2817, 2-6323, 3-1071

David Collier
Professor Emeritus
Comparative politics
Latin America
Methodology
Conceptualization and measurement
Causal assessment and qualitative research
Regime change and democratization
dcollier@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Collier's webpage
2-8168, 2-6323

Ruth Collier
Professor Emeritus
Member of CLAS Faculty Advisory Committee
Comparative politics
Latin America
Regime change and democratization
Mexican politics
Labor politics
rcollier@socs.berkeley.edu
Professor Collier's webpage
3-8019, 2-6323

Thad Dunning
Professor
Comparative politics
Political economy
Methodology
Latin American politics

thad.dunning@berkeley.edu
Professor Dunning's webpage

Alison Post
Assistant Professor
Comparative Political Economy
Regulation
Urban Politics and Policy
Environmental Policy

aepost@berkeley.edu
Professor Post's biography
2-1434

School of Public Health

Sylvia Guendelman
Associate Professor
Reproductive health of immigrant women
Access to health care for disadvantaged populations
Health along the U.S.-Mexico border
Juvenile asthma
sylviag@berkeley.edu
Professor Guendelman's webpage
2-2848, 2-1512

Eva Harris
Associate Professor
Molecular virology, pathogenesis, and epidemiology of dengue
Scientific capacity building in developing countries
PH292/3 Immune Evasion in Host-Pathogen Interactions
eharris@berkeley.edu
2-4845

Lia C. Haskin Fernald
Associate Professor
Public Health and Nutrition
Community Health and Human Development
Immigrant health, inequalties and health disparities
Obesity, overweight, and nutritional and epidemiologic transition
Malnutrition, international child health and development

fernald@berkeley.edu
http://sph.berkeley.edu/faculty/fernald.php
3-9113

Robert Nap Hosang
Lecturer
Maternal and child health service delivery in developing countries
hosang@berkeley.edu
2-6915

Meredith Minkler
Professor
National study of the health of grandparent caregivers
P
articipatory action research with the disability community
mink@berkeley.edu
Professor Minkler's webpage
2-4397

Goldman School of Public Policy

Daniel Kammen
Professor
Climate Change
International Research and Development
Rural Resource Management
dkammen@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Kammen's webpage
3-4590, 2-1640

School of Social Welfare

Peter Manoleas
Lecturer/Field Work Consultant
Substance abuse
Mental health
Cross-cultural practice
Latino mental health
pgm@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Manoleas' webpage
2-0929, 2-4341

Kurt Organista
Associate Professor
Chicano/Latino psychosocial problems
Acculturation and adjustment of ethnic minorities to American society
Minority mental health
Cognitive-behavioral therapy
Depression in Latinos
HIV prevention with Mexican migrant laborers/Latinos
drkco@berkeley.edu
Professor Organista's webpage
3-6671, 2-4341

 

Department of Sociology

Irene Bloemraad
Assistant Professor
Immigration from Latin America
bloemr@berkeley.edu
2-4287

Laura Enríquez
Associate Professor
Development in Latin America
Rural sociology
Political sociology
Social movements
enriquez@berkeley.edu
Professor Enríquez's webpage
2-2502, 2-4766

Peter Evans
Professor Emeritus
Development and globalization
Comparative political economy
Latin America
pevans@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Evans' webpage
2-5877, 2-4766

G. Cristina Mora
Assistant Professor
Culture, Race and Ethnicity,
Organizations
Immigration
Religion
cmora@berkeley.edu
Professor Mora's webpage
2-5877

Martín Sanchez-Jankowski
Professor
Urban sociology
Political sociology
Poverty
Race and ethnicity
Youth culture
Survey research
sanjan@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Sanchez-Jankowski's webpage
3-8779, 2-4766

Department of Spanish and Portuguese

Milton Azevedo
Professor
Hispanic linguistics
Applied linguistics
mnazevedo@ berkeley.edu
2-0471

Amelia Barili
Lecturer
Post-1700 Spanish literature
ameliab@socrates.berkeley.edu
Amelia Barili's webpage
2-1236

Emilie L. Bergmann
Professor
Spanish American prose and poetry

elb@berkeley.edu
Professor Bergmann's webpage
2-2104

Natalia Brizuela
Assistant Professor
19th and 20th century Latin American literature; Southern-cone and Brazil; cinema; photography
brizuela@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Brizuela's webpage
2-0471

Ivonne del Valle
Assistant Professor
Colonial studies: Literature, History and Culture, especially in México.
Baroque and Enlightenment in colonial settings.
Relationships between religion and technology, economy, and environment.
Subaltern Studies
idelvalle@ berkeley.edu
898-1272

Agnes Dimitriou
Lecturer
Spanish Language and Composition

agnesd@socrates.berkeley.edu
2-1236

Clelia F. Donovan
Lecturer
Portuguese Instructor
cdonovan@socrates.berkeley.edu
2-2102

Charles B. Faulhaber
Professor Emeritus
Medieval Spanish and Catalan literature
Paleography and dodicology
Computer-assisted research techniques
cfaulhab@library.berkeley.edu
2-3781

Francine Masiello
Professor
Spanish American literature
Prose and poetry in Argentina
Literary theory
frm@berkeley.edu
Professor Masiello's webpage
2-4389, 2-0471, 2-1202
(also affiliated with Department of Comparative Literature)

Ignacio Navarrete
Associate Professor
Spanish Golden Age literature, especially poetry, poetics, and historiography
Literary theory
ignacio@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Navarrete's webpage
2-2108

Candace Slater
Professor
Brazilian literature and culture
Latin American folk and popular traditions
cslater@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Slater's webpage
2-2114, 2-0471

Estelle Tarica
Associate Professor
Member of CLAS Faculty Advisory Committee
20th century Latin American literature and culture
Mexico and the Andes
French Caribbean literature
post-colonial theories
etarica@socrates.berkeley.edu
Professor Tarica's webpage
2-5164

Academic Information

 
© 2012, The Regents of the University of California, Last Updated - July 24, 2013