About the Conference

Conference Participants

Panel I U.S. - Mexican Economic Integration

Panel II Polocies for A New Social Agenda

Conference Staff

Video & Audio Highlights

Center for Latin American Studies Homepage

Conference Participants

Ciro Ferreira Gomes
Former Governor of Ceara, former Minister of Finance, candidate for President in 1998

Roberto Managabeira Unger
Professor of Law, Harvard University


Luis Maira Aguirre
Ambassador to Mexico

Jaime Estevez
Economist, Former Speaker of the Chamber of Deputies


Amalia Garcia
Senator, PRD

Vicente Fox Quesada
Governor of Guanajuato, PAN, candidate for President
Adolfo Aguilar Zinser
Senator, Independent
Jorge G. Castaneda
Professor of Political Science, UNAM and NYU


David E. Bonior
Democratic Whip, Second Ranking Democrat in the House of Representatives

Xavier Becerra
Member of Congress, California (D)
Sherrod Brown
Member of Congress, Ohio (D)
Nancy Pelosi
Member of Congress, California (D)
Harley Shaiken
Chair, Center for Latin American Studies at U.C. Berkeley; Professor, Department of Geography and the Graduate School of Education


Peter Evans
Professor and Chair, Department of Sociology

Lydia Chavez
Professor, School of Journalism
Alex Saragoza
Professor, Department of Ethnic Studies
Jose Canela
Professor, School of Public Policy
Manuel Castells
Professor, Department of Sociology, Department of Urban and Regional Planning
Ruth Berins Collier
Professor, Department of Political Science